customs brokerage, freight forwarding and truck transportation

Canada-EU Free Trade Agreement (CETA) in Force Sept. 21, 2017

: General

Canada-EU Free Trade Agreement (CETA) in Force Sept. 21, 2017 2017-09-14

Canada’s long awaited free trade agreement with the European Union will come into force provisionally on September 21, 2017.

This message addresses the importation of EU goods into Canada.

With the exception of certain food and agricultural products, automobiles and ships, the regular customs duties on all goods that originate in the EU released from Canada Customs on and after September 21st will be immediately eliminated.

To qualify for duty free entry into Canada under CETA, the following three conditions must be met:

  • The goods must be exported directly from the EU to Canada. If the goods are transported through a third, non-EU country, they must remain under Customs control in the third country and they may not undergo further production or any other operation outside the EU, other than unloading, reloading, or any other operation necessary to preserve the goods in good condition or to transport them to Canada.
  • The exporter in the EU must provide the Canadian importer with an Origin Declaration in the prescribed form. The Origin Declaration may be marked on the invoice or prepared as a stand-alone document. When the origin declaration is completed for multiple shipments of identical originating products, the exporter must indicate the period of time for which the origin declaration will apply. The period of time may not exceed 12 months and all importations of the product must occur within the period indicated.

The text of the Origin Declaration and explanatory footnotes can be found in Annex 2 of the CETA Protocol on Rules of Origin and Origin Procedures.

If an Origin Declaration was not issued by the EU exporter and available to the Canadian importer at time of entry, it is expected that, similarly to Canada’s other FTA’s with the exception of NAFTA, the importer may apply for a duty refund within four years after the date of accounting.

List of European Union partner countries:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom (under Brexit, the UK will exit the EU in the coming months).

It is worth noting that Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland are not part of CETA. These four countries are part of the existing European Free Trade Association (EFTA) agreement with Canada.  

If you have any questions about CETA, please contact Milgram’s Consulting Department or your account representative.



Milgram has developed a reputation for providing the highest level of service in the fields of Customs Brokerage, International Freight Forwarding and Ground Transportation.

We strive to make things simple for our clients by doing them better, and work hard to meet and exceed our clients expectations.

Montréal514-288-2161Dorval514-695-3585Toronto905-673-1568Toronto Warehouse905-677-3997Vancouver604-821-1677
FMC Organization No. 024711
Would you like to download the Milgram app for BlackBerry?Yes No